News / Events
Blogs »
Rock defeat Canada Selects in Victoria

May Friday 13th - Rock defeat Canada Selects side 19-13 in Victoria

The Rock defeated a Canada Selects team 19-13 in Victoria Friday night. The Canadian squad was comprised of domestic players, mostly carded by Sport Canada.

The Rock team was preparing for their Argentina Canada Challenge game in St. John's this Thursday, May 19 at the Swilers Rugby Complex.

In a very physical encounter the Rock came from behind to win in the last 5 minutes through an outstanding try following a 50 yard run by Chauncey O'Toole and a drop goal by Dean Blanks.

The game opened with a beautiful try by Robert Wilson following a half break by Tyler Wish, the captain.

Two penalties by Dean Blanks completed the scoring for The Rock.

Canada Selects scored 2 penalties and a conversion by Ander Monro and a well worked try from a three man line-out by Brett Beukeboom.

"This was a wonderful victory for us" commented Rock Coach Simon Blanks. "The scrums were a battle throughout as the front rows were battling for Rugby World Cup positions.

"The Canadian team dominated the line-out but our defence was stern  particularly the centres (Tyler) Wish and (Geoff) Warden and our backrow of Chauncey O'Toole, Jebb Sinclair, Ken Goodland, Kevin Parfrey and Toni Wodzicki was excellent throughout."

The Rock play James Bay AA -  celebrating 125 years as a club, at the Royal Athletic Park in Victoria on Saturday afternoon.

Canada Selects
Try: Brett Beukeboom
Conversion: Ander Monro
Penalties: Ander Monro (2)

The Rock
Tries: Robert Wilson, Chauncey O'Toole
Penalties: Dean Blanks (2)
Drop-Goal: Dean Blanks

Canada Selects
1. Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack)
2. Ryan Hamilton (British Columbia)
3. Scott Franklin (Prairie Wolf Pack)
4. Brett Beukeboom (Ontario Blues)
5. Brian Erichsen (BC Bears)
6. Mark Macsween (Ontario Blues)
7. Dustin Dobravksy (Prairie Wolf Pack)
8. Jeremy Kyne (Prairie Wolf Pack)
9. Jamie Mackenzie (Ontario Blues)
10. Ander Monro (Ontario Blues)
11. Beau Parker (British Columbia)
12. Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack)
13. Nick Blevins (Prairie Wolf Pack)
14. Matt Buckley (British Columbia)
15. Connor Braid (British Columbia)

16. Doug Wooldridge (Ontario Blues)
17. Andrew Tiedemann (Prairie Wolf Pack)
18. Pat Riordan (British Columbia)
19. Shea Wakefield (British Columbia)
20. Conor McCann (Shawnigan Lake School)
21. Shawn Mercier (British Columbia)

Coach Kieran Crowley

Rock Team
1. Frank Walsh
2. Owen Parfrey
3. Rod Snow (Phil Alcock -55 mins)
4. Brad Lester (Sean O'Leary - 67 mins)
5.Jebb Sinclair (back row at 30 mins)
6. Chauncey O’Toole
7. Kevin Parfrey (Toni Wodzicki -50 mins)
8. Ken Goodland (Jon Phelan - 30 mins)
9. Sean White
10. Dean Blanks
11. Tyler Wish
12. Robert Wilson
13. Rob Turk (Simon Pacey - Half)
14. Geoff Warden
15. Morgan Lovell

Coach Simon Blanks

  • Comments