News / Events
Blogs »
First Home Game for The Rock – 2012 Canadian Rugby Championship

August 28, 2012 - The Rock will play the Prairie Wolf Pack on Saturday Sept 1st at 3pm at the Swilers Rugby Complex in their second game of the 5 round Canadian Rugby Championship. The Rock lost narrowly to Ontario away last Saturday by 23 - 19, thus gaining one bonus point by losing by less than 8 points.

The Wolf Pack have won both their games by wide margins v Pacific Tyee and now have 10 points, having secured a bonus point in each game by scoring 4 tries.

Consequently this is a vital game for both teams. A loss for the Rock will make it very difficult for them to win the National title, whereas a win for the Wolf Pack will bring them much closer to their first National title.

The Wolf Pack has strong forwards with 4 Canadian Internationals, front rowers Hubert Buydens, Scott Franklin and Andrew Tiedemann and flanker Nanyak Dala. In addition, their backs include Sevens international Jeff Hassler and new active scrumhalf Gordon McRorie.

Robert Wilson is getting married on Friday, as a result the Rock will be without him and his groomsmen Justin Meyers and Geoff Warden. Kyle Baillie returns from injury, Owen Parfrey from wedding duties, and Ciaran Hearn from International sevens with Canada.

The Rock’s best players v Ontario were Toni Wodzicki, Jon Phelan and Benoit Piffero, all forwards. Furthermore Rod Snow’s young replacement Bob Rogers scrummaged well against the strong Ontario unit.

“The Rock will continue with our policy of introducing young players this year by starting Llyr Morris at centre and bringing in Patrick McNicholas at wing in the second half”, commented coach Simon Blanks. ”In addition 20 year old Patrick Parfrey will start at outside half ,with Dean Blanks moving to fullback. This brings the number of u21 players in Saturday’s squad to six!”

On Tuesday Sept 4th the Rock will play Pacific Tyee at the Swilers Rugby Complex at 6pm in their third game of the CRC.

The Rock team for Saturday is:

  1. Frank Walsh - Vandals RFC St. John’s, NL
  2. Owen Parfrey - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL ©
  3. Bob Rogers - Dogs RFC Mt. Pearl, NL
  4. Jon Phelan - St. Anne-de Bellevue Montreal, PQ
  5. Brad Lester - Dogs RFC Mt. Pearl, NL
  6. Toni Wodzicki - Castaway Wanderers RFC Montreal, PQ
  7. Kevin Parfrey - Swilers RFC Halifax, NS
  8. Kyle Baillie - Mudmen RFC Edmonton, AB
  9. Mike Simpson - Swilers RFC Sudbury, ON
  10. Patrick Parfrey - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL
  11. Ciaran Hearn - Castaway Wanderers RFC Victoria, BC
  12. Llyr Morris - Mudmen RFC Charlottetown, PEI
  13. Morgan Lovell - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL
  14. Tyler Wish - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL
  15. Dean Blanks - Dogs RFC Mt. Pearl, NL
  16. Steve Cutliffe - Dogs RFC Mt. Pearl, NL
  17. Benoit Piffero - St. Anne-de Bellevue Montreal, PQ
  18. Jordan Power - Dogs RFC Mt. Pearl, NL
  19. Zac Coughlan - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL
  20. Jasmin Kukavica - Loyalist RFC Fredericton, NB
  21. Scott Forrest - Tars RFC Halifax, NS
  22. Patrick McNicholas - Swilers RFC St. John’s, NL

  • Comments
Trackback URL:

buy nike shoes online
[...] nike air max 90 [...] Read More

Posted on 11/2/14 8:04 AM.

Top Top